2023 Louise Freeland and OLSA Scholarship Winners Announced

Ohio’s Electric Cooperatives rewarded 11 high school seniors for exceptional academic achievement in the Louise Freeland and Ohio Line Supervisors Association (OLSA) scholarship competitions, held March 2.

Two panels of independent judges reviewed the applications and interviewed the students before determining the winners.

Louise Freeland Scholarships

Named in honor of a long-time employee of Ohio Rural Electric Cooperatives, the Louise Freeland Scholarships are awarded annually to the children of electric cooperative employees and trustees.

Chaz Frizzell, Michael Huffman, Gracelyn Johns, and Lauren Riggenbach were awarded $3,000 Freeland scholarships.

  • Frizzell is a senior at Central Catholic High School. His father, Chuck Frizzell, works for Cardinal Operating Company.
  • Huffman is a senior at Van Buren High School. His mother, Jennifer Huffman, works for Hancock-Wood Electric Cooperative.
  • Johns is a senior at St. Marys Memorial High School. Her father, Joel Johns, works at Midwest Electric.
  • Riggenbach is a senior at John Marshall High School. Her father, Robert Riggenbach Jr., works for Cardinal Operating Company.

Alyssa Ebersole, Abigail Hill, Olivia Loescher, and Katelynn Lykins were awarded $1,200 Freeland scholarships.

  • Ebersole is a senior at Buckeye Valley High School. Her father, Brad Ebersole, works for Consolidated Cooperative.
  • Hill is a senior at Union County High School. Her father, Jeremy Hill, works for Butler Rural Electric Cooperative.
  • Loescher is a senior at New London High School. Her mother, Stephanie Schmidt, works for Firelands Electric Cooperative.
  • Lykins is a senior at Bloom-Carroll High School. Her father, Jeffrey Lykins, works South Central Power Company.

OLSA Scholarships

Jenna Dulle, Taylor Dietz, and Laura Stoller were awarded first, second, and third place, respectively, in the OLSA Scholarship competition.

OLSA is an association of the line supervisors of 25 electric cooperatives in Ohio and West Virginia, affiliated with Ohio’s Electric Cooperatives.

  • Dulle, winner of the $2,000 first-place scholarship, is a senior at Edon High School. Her father, Doug Dulle, works for North Western Electric Cooperative.
  • Dietz, winner of the $1,500 second-place scholarship, is a senior at Tippecanoe High School. Her father, Jeff Dietz, works for Pioneer Electric Cooperative.
  • Stoller, winner of the $1,000 third-place scholarship, is a senior at Wayne Trace High School. Her mother, Kendra Stoller, works at Paulding Putnam Electric Cooperative.
Article Categories