Twenty-four students receive OEC Children of Members Scholarships

Ohio’s Electric Cooperatives held its annual statewide Children of Members Scholarship competition on Tuesday in Columbus.

Twenty-four high school seniors representing each of the Ohio-based electric distribution cooperatives competed for $37,000 in scholarships. A panel of independent judges reviewed the applications and interviewed the finalists before determining the top 10 scholarship winners.

The top 10 scholarship winners were:

  • First place ($3,600): Jacob Kahle, Kalida High School, Paulding Putnam Electric Cooperative
  • Second place ($2,600): Andrew Cochran, Wooster High School, Holmes-Wayne Electric Cooperative
  • Third place ($2,100): Alicia McElwee, Cardington-Lincoln High School, Mid-Ohio Energy Cooperative
  • Fourth place ($2,000): David Winter, Edgewood High School, Butler Rural Electric Cooperative
  • Fifth place ($1,900): Trevor Hellman, Findlay High School, Hancock-Wood Electric Cooperative
  • Sixth place ($1,800): Michael Johnston, Wapakoneta High School, Midwest Electric
  • Seventh place ($1,700): Allie McCoy, River View High School, Frontier Power Company
  • Eighth place ($1,600): Jenay Kocsis, Fairbanks High School, Union Rural Electric Cooperative
  • Ninth place ($1,500): Meredith Coil, Marietta Senior High School, Washington Electric Cooperative
  • Tenth place ($1,400): William Yeater, Hillsdale High School, Firelands Electric Cooperative

The following students each received $1,200 scholarships:

  • Ryan Alvarado, Hopewell-Loudon High School, North Central Electric Cooperative
  • David Booth, John Glenn High School, Guernsey-Muskingum Electric Cooperative
  • Andrew Caryer, Hicksville High School, North Western Electric Cooperative
  • Graham Garee, Northridge High School, Consolidated Cooperative
  • Emily Holcomb, Firelands High School, Lorain-Medina Rural Electric Cooperative
  • Samuel Jackson, Calvary Christian High School, Logan County Electric Cooperative
  • Benjamin Lawson, Bethel High School, Pioneer Electric Cooperative
  • Nicholas Maxwell, Granville High School, The Energy Cooperative
  • Anna Meyer, Catholic Central High School, Carroll Electric Cooperative
  • Riley Moberly, Hillsboro High School, South Central Power Company
  • Mattison Nichols, Peebles High School, Adams Rural Electric Cooperative
  • Holly Schmenk, Patrick Henry High School, Tricounty Rural Electric Cooperative
  • Bailey Stammen, Ansonia High School, Darke Rural Electric Cooperative
  • Bailey Ward, Oak Hill High School, Buckeye Rural Electric Cooperative