Ohio co-ops leave their mark in Orlando

OEC’s Marc Armstrong accepted an award for Ohio’s exceptional ACRE membership.

Ohio’s Electric Cooperatives made their presence known at the NRECA Annual Meeting earlier this month.

Ohio Cooperative Living staff, including Jeff McCallister, Rebecca Seum, Anita Cook, Patrick Higgins, and Doug Miller, received the George W. Haggard Memorial Journalism Award, recognizing the magazine’s commitment to forthright, concise, and balanced presentation of ideas advancing electric cooperatives and their members.

Ohio co-ops’ excellence in political action was also recognized, with OEC’s government affairs team receiving an award from NRECA for having the most Action Committee for Rural Electrification (ACRE) members of any state in the country.

Dwight Miller, director of safety training and loss prevention, presented at a session about OEC’s partnership with NRECA and Federated Rural Insurance Exchange on the Commitment to Zero Contacts program.

Ohio co-ops also participated in the Touchstone Energy community service project during the annual meeting. In collaboration with Rebuilding Together Orlando, the volunteers worked to rehabilitate the Covenant House Florida campus, which serves runaway, homeless, and at-risk young people. Click here to view a video about the project, featuring OEC Vice President for Statewide Services and Touchstone Energy Board Chairman Doug Miller.

OEC Director of Cooperative Development Janet Rehberg served as an emcee during the annual meeting – the third consecutive year she has participated in this capacity.