OEC awards 24 scholarships to children of cooperative members

Ohio’s Electric Cooperatives awarded 24 scholarships to outstanding high school seniors in its annual Children of Members Scholarship competition.

Students from member households representing each of the Ohio-based electric distribution cooperatives competed for $41,800 in scholarships. A panel of independent judges reviewed applications and essays submitted by the students to determine the top 10 scholarship winners. All 24 statewide finalists competed in local scholarship competitions prior to advancing to the OEC competition.

The top 10 scholarship winners were:

  • First place ($3,800): Parker Hamilton, South Central Power Company
  • Second place ($2,800): Kirsten Etzinger, North Central Electric Cooperative
  • Third place ($2,300): Megan Knicely, Guernsey-Muskingum Electric Cooperative
  • Fourth place ($2,200): Annie Seboe, Holmes-Wayne Electric Cooperative
  • Fifth place ($2,100): Ryanna Tietje, Hancock-Wood Electric Cooperative
  • Sixth place ($2,000): Allison Knapp, Logan County Electric Cooperative
  • Seventh place ($1,900): Faith Griffiths, Firelands Electric Cooperative
  • Eighth place ($1,800): Isabella Saylor, Butler Rural Electric Cooperative
  • Ninth place ($1,700): Hannah Meyer, Tricounty Rural Electric Cooperative
  • Tenth place ($1,600): Jenna Brinkman, Mid-Ohio Energy Cooperative

The following students each received $1,400 honorable mention scholarships (sorted alphabetically by last name):

  • Elizabeth Ardrey, Union Rural Electric Cooperative
  • Karlie Blissenbach, Carroll Electric Cooperative
  • Riley Bunstine, The Energy Cooperative
  • Samantha Caskey, Buckeye Rural Electric Cooperative
  • Lillian Dowdell, Lorain-Medina Rural Electric Cooperative
  • Morgan Dowler, Paulding Putnam Electric Cooperative
  • Emma Eckstein, Midwest Electric
  • Kaylee Ferguson, Adams Rural Electric Cooperative
  • Emma Garee, Consolidated Cooperative
  • Blake Holthaus, Pioneer Electric Cooperative
  • Kaitlyn Richard, The Frontier Power Company
  • Adrianna Roth, North Western Electric Cooperative
  • Brock Shellhaas, Darke Rural Electric Cooperative
  • Sydney Westbrook, Washington Electric Cooperative