Louise Freeland, OLSA scholarship winners announced

Ohio’s Electric Cooperatives rewarded 11 high school seniors for exceptional academic achievement in the Louise Freeland and Ohio Line Supervisors Association (OLSA) scholarship competitions, held February 26.

Two panels of independent judges reviewed the applications and interviewed the students before determining the winners.

Louise Freeland Scholarships

Named in honor of a long-time employee of Ohio Rural Electric Cooperatives, the Louise Freeland Scholarships are awarded annually to the children of electric cooperative employees and trustees.

Jeremy Ackley, Nora Beresik, Julia McMaster, and Grace Struck were awarded $3,000 Freeland scholarships.

  • Ackley is a senior at Georgetown High School. His mother, Erika Ackley, works for Adams Rural Electric Cooperative.
  • Beresik is a senior at Fort Loramie High School. Her mother, Marie Beresik, works for Pioneer Electric Cooperative.
  • McMaster is a senior at Paulding High School. Her father, John McMaster, works at Paulding Putnam Electric Cooperative.
  • Struck is a senior at Cardington-Lincoln High School. Her father, Michael Struck, works for Consolidated Cooperative.

Jessica Batton, Nicholas Leach, Mason Maurer, and Peyton Wilson were awarded $1,200 Freeland scholarships.

  • Batton is a senior at Fairlawn High School. Her father, John Batton, works for Pioneer Electric Cooperative.
  • Leach is a senior at Lancaster High School. His mother, Lynette Leach, works for South Central Power Company.
  • Maurer is a senior at Waynedale High School. His father, Michael Maurer, works for Holmes-Wayne Electric Cooperative.
  • Wilson is a senior at New London High School. His mother, Melissa Wilson, works at Fireland Electric Cooperative.

OLSA Scholarships

Zoe Blevins, Katelyn Nash, and Jenna Dietz were awarded first, second, and third place, respectively, in the OLSA Scholarship competition.

OLSA is an association of the line supervisors of 25 electric cooperatives in Ohio and West Virginia, affiliated with Ohio’s Electric Cooperatives.

  • Blevins, winner of the $2,000 first-place scholarship, is a senior at Hamilton High School. Her mother, Tricia Blevins, works for Butler Rural Electric Cooperative.
  • Nash, winner of the $1,500 second-place scholarship, is a senior at Graham High School. Her father, Jeremy Nash, works at Pioneer Electric Cooperative.
  • Dietz, winner of the $1,000 third-place scholarship, is a senior at Tippecanoe High School. Her father, Jeff Dietz, works for Pioneer Electric Cooperative.