And the winner is…

They say that March comes in like a lion and goes out like a lamb. However, the opposite holds true for Ohio Cooperative Living. This month marks the two-year anniversary of the publication’s debut, when we quietly but deliberately retired the magazine’s predecessor in favor of a contemporary redesign, a closer focus on our members, and, most notably, a new name. Even though the evolution was the result of considerable reader input and with the approval of Ohio’s 24-member electric cooperative network, we held our breath when the March 2017 issue was unveiled in your mailboxes — would our loyal readers notice the difference, and would you like it?

Pat O’Loughlin, president & CEO of Ohio’s Electric Cooperatives

You did, and you do. Apparently, the electric cooperative industry took notice as well. We’re honored that Ohio Cooperative Living has been selected as the 2018 recipient of the George W. Haggard Memorial Journalism Award. An annual distinction presented by the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association and named for the first editor of the Texas statewide periodical, the award recognizes an electric cooperative statewide consumer publication that best presents “lucid, forthright contributions to electric cooperative objectives.” I couldn’t agree more.

Congratulations and “hats off” to:

  • Managing Editor Jeff McCallister
  • Associate Editor Rebecca Seum
  • Associate Editor Samantha Kuhn
  • Graphic Designer Anita Cook
  • Communications Director Patrick Higgins
  • Vice President of Statewide Services Doug Miller

Ohio Cooperative Living is a true collaborative effort among the Ohio’s Electric Cooperatives staff, our member cooperatives, and our readers — the 1 million consumer-members whom we’re privileged to serve. Thank you for allowing us a peek inside your lives and the pleasure of producing a magazine that celebrates the best of electric cooperatives — you.

Happy reading.